Books and Me: Meditation

Title: MeditationMeditation

Author: Eknath Easwaran

Over the course of my life, I have always been interested in knowing more about religion, spirituality and the philosophy behind life in general. At various points in time, I have been led to know more about various religion, their practices, faiths and gods.  In the last few years my learning has helped me transcend the differences across faiths and get on the path of advaita or non-duality.  The study of Vedanta, has allowed me to clarify the differences between Yoga, Meditation and the numerous other terms that is present in the philosophical literature. If you have been reading this blog even for a short while, you will realise that my interest in this area is only on the rise. The numerous books on philosophy that I have written about in the Books and Me section and the various life’s lesson that I learn and share under the Vedantic Wednesday section are my small way of making my experiences useful to the rest. Sharing my thoughts about this book is also in lines with this.

Any spiritual practice is personal . In this regards I have been searching for numerous methods, practices, techniques from which I may find what’s most suitable for me. A chance occurrence sent me an invitation to attend the Satsang based on Eknath Easwaran’s philosophy in India. During my first meet up I realised that something about his eight point program touched a chord in me. To figure out deeper I requested the other members at the Satsang a book I could read from his stable of publications.  This was the book that got suggested.

The book titled Meditation, describes the eight point program devised and practiced by Eknath Easwaran in blue mountain centre of meditation, United States.  I thoroughly enjoyed the book and liked his approach of making the entire spiritual activity a daily habit.  Even more interesting is his constant reminder to embed the practices into our daily activities of life. Thereby taking the practice of spirituality to where it truly belongs.  Though it is only a few weeks since I have begun to attempt practicing his suggestions I am beginning to feel a sense of positivism in making it work.

I wish to reiterate here that I am still not recommending the methodology but suggesting that we must not stop searching the vast literature of philosophy to find what is best suited for each one of us.  And as we progress along the journey we may also recognise what we have to drop and what next to pick up.

On a more general note,  even if one does not pick up the suggested approach to meditation or any other of the eight point program,  I think the chapter on ‘Slowing Down’ is something we can all take-away. I have always been a fan of this particular approach and I was glad to see this to be included this explicitly in his program.

One thought on “Books and Me: Meditation

Leave a Reply

