Books and Me: The Design of Business

Book Title: The Design of Business

Author: Roger L Martinbook cover-the-design-of-business

I am fan of Prof. Martin’s writings. Though I have read and reviewed his earlier book on strategy, this one eluded my consumption since sometime. During a recent discussion with one of my entrepreneur clients in the design space, I casually asked her to refer something to read on her subject. She told me since I was from the business strategy arena, I may like to see the work of one Roger Martin. I smiled and issued the book as soon as I came back to my base.

It is no surprise that ‘design thinking’ is taking the business world by storm. The examples quoted in the book showcases the benefit of using this approach to strategy making. While some aspects of it are intuitive and some may be using it too, Prof Martin has made it structured and repeatably usable.

Being an academic myself I enjoyed the philosophical underpinnings of design thinking. I was introduced to a philosopher I had only heard in the past – Charles Pierce. I actually consumed the book like how a child eats ‘ice cream’ – ate slowly so as to not get done with it; and felt bad when it actually got done.

But the nice part of a good book is the number of triggers it provides for furthering its thoughts. It also leads you to more reading. This book did both.

Thanks Prof Martin for providing an inspirational read on ‘design thinking’ and leading me to read more on this subject. I am so convinced that this approach to thinking will guide me in my scholarly life as well as in helping the thousands of entrepreneurs and students I interact with everyday.

Leave a Reply

