My First Visit to the Carribean

I have always been a big fan of the West Indies cricket team. Right from the days of Viv Richards to Chris Gayle – they entertain and keep us glued to the sport. With the onset of the ‘T-20’ format of the game, they have only shown how inherent a part of the game, they are! But never did I dream or wish to go there – but it all happened at short notice and kind of suddenly.

Here I am, writing this, sitting in the land of the West Indies – ‘The Carribean’ specifically in Georgetown, Guyana. My hotel room opens into the Atlantic Ocean. The country is green and the people are so fun loving. It has all signs of a country filled with aspirations to grow.

While I was on the flight from New York to Georgetown, I had two old women sitting on the same row. One was 89 and the the other was 70, both of Guyanese origin. They had so much life in them, so much aspiration, especially the older lady. I was so inspired by her energy and enthusiasm. She was engaged in some really small business (by global standards), but she never made it sound so. I liked the way she told me that she was building it. They gave me some tips on places to visit while I’m in Guyana and wished me well. I’m not ‘selfie’ crazy, else I would have posted one here with them.

My experience at the Airport amazed me. We got out of the plane, walked to a small hall where immigration, customs and baggage belt was present. Just outside the hall there were people waiting to pick their guests and of course some taxi drivers trying their luck. No order in parking, but no confusion either. It appeared to me the equivalent of a railway station in a small Indian town / village.

Our driver picked us up and we were on our way to the hotel. He drove quite fast along one of the three rivers in Guyana. It rained pretty heavily while we were enroute to the hotel and I got a couple of nice pictures. Here is one of them!First Look - Guyana

He stopped us to treat us to some ‘coconut water along the country side. There was a man who came out of his home and served us fresh coconut water. Indians comprise a large part of Guyana’s population. Georgetown itself has three popular Indian restaurants – ‘Taste of India’, ‘Maharaja’ and ‘Aagman’. In the last few days I’ve already had food at two of them. They are tasty and the people running the restaurants speak Hindi.

It is my first visit to the Carribean and it is my first time in South America. It has been awesome so far and I really look forward to knowing Guyana (and the Carribean) through its people and places. My work here also offers me this wonderful opportunity to know about the entire Carribean Community in one place!

2 thoughts on “My First Visit to the Carribean

  1. Wow! Raj with his legacy of lucid language, hmmm Guyana –
    I am delighted at the fresh coconut water offered – the fresh feel, and the fresh visual treat through your enriching words!!

  2. Life, certainly, ‘is beautiful’! And when a gentle entrepreneurship ‘giant-in-the-making’ captures a rainbow so beautifully, I’m compelled to believe in a pot at the end of it!!
    Thanks for sharing, RS! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

