On Teacher’s Day!

As per Hindu Mythology “Guru” or “Teacher” is to be worshipped even before “God” himself. That is enough to highlight the importance of this position and its role. It has been a wonderfully different experience this teacher’s day.

While it has been my agenda on teacher’s day to pay tribute to my teachers and guide(s), for the first time I had number of students call and wish me “Happy Teacher’s Day”. Now this has brought a totally different connotation to life, rather added one more dimension this year– the role of a teacher.

Teachers have always caught my imagination from childhood and I have always sought out to reach to faculty and continue to seek them more often in my journey today, or advice and directions. My personal inclination towards academics and teaching has constantly kept me in close contact with this community and its changing trends. Today I am also happy to be a part of this noble profession.

Today as I received text messages, calls, FB messages and e-mails, it dawned on me that I need to carry myself with greater care as I may be an influence on a growing group of younger minds. It brought to my mind some thoughts on teaching as a profession and teachers as people. I present some of them here:

  • A teacher can have profound impact on the student community which looks up to him / her
  • A teacher can be the real alchemist
  • A teacher can never feel poor as all he has to do is give
  • A teacher will always be happy since everyday he / she can have students walk up to them and make their day
  • A teacher should be proud to have got the opportunity to serve the noble cause the role demands without pride

I repeat what I tweeted some days back “For a good student the world is his teacher, and for a good teacher the student is his” – this is a relationship which can create Arjuna’s for the world.

On this wonderful day I wish all my teachers (so far) and the many who I am going to meet in the days to come “Shree Gurubhyo Namaha” or “Salutations to the Guru” OR popularly “Happy Teacher’s Day”.

As I close out this rambling I would like to quote from one of my e-mails sent to me today by a student of mine (thanks Milan):

“Those who educate children well are more to be honored than parents, for these only gave life, those the art of living well.” – Aristotle

2 thoughts on “On Teacher’s Day!

  1. So truly stated, It has been more than 20 years that I left attending school as full time but has never forgotten what my teachers practiced and taught. Even today MY school at Manavalanagar near Chennai follows the true way of teaching and is guided by good principles. Parents brought me into this world while teachers Shaped me into human being.

  2. A magic stone conerts iron into gold, a Midas touch everything into gold ;but a teacher’s touch begets another teacher!

    One who teaches learns.

    The four traits of a teacher are:
    1. Pious conduct.
    2. Knowledge.
    3. Teaching skills.
    4. Love and affection for students.

Leave a comment